Wine: Santa Lucia Highlands – A Special Place

The official AVA name for wines in Monterey is “MontereyMost of Monterey’s vineyards are in the Salinas Valley

The Monterey AVA includes smaller sub-AVA’s in the Salinas Valley (from north to south):

  • Santa Lucia Highlands,
  • Arroyo Seco,
  • San Bernabe,
  • San Lucas, and
  • Hames Valley.

The Monterey AVA includes 3 other sub-AVAs sit outside of the Salinas Valley: 

  • Carmel Valley,
  • Chalone,
  • San Antonio Valley.

Here are some details about Monterey Wine Country and one of its most popular American Viticulture Areas (AVA) – the Santa Lucia Highlands.

NoteThere are a number of vineyards in southern Monterey County that outside the boundary of any AVA. They have unique terroir and some very good wines.